Click to Browse this Book!
 


Asia Calling.
A Photographer's Notebook 1980-1997.


Photographs and Text by Edward Grazda.
powerHouse Books, New York, USA, 2021. In English. 72 pp., 11xx¼".

Signed copies available!

Publisher's Description

A spectacular photographer's daybook, in the tradition of Peter Beard, Bill Burke, and Robert Frank, detailing the wanderlust of faraway travel and profound discovery in a part of the world few desire to wander.

A limited edition 17 ¾' by 20 ¾' poster is included in each copy of this first-edition printing.

Asia Calling is longtime mid-east photographer Edward Grazda's art journal recap of his decades traversing the globe during times of immense social and cultural change in the Asian continent. Much like Peter Beard and Bill Burke before, Grazda's journal entries and diaristic graphics, along with his image manipulation and conceptual positionings of his photographs and writings make this no mere photo notebook, but rather an indelible stamp, a graphic passport if you will, of people and places, frozen in time, but now alive with invigorating juxtapositions and dynamic sequencing, a filmic recap of a place and time long gone but still there. 

Starting in 1980, Grazda traveled to Hong Kong, Thailand, Burma, Vietnam, Laos, India, China, Pakistan, and Afghanistan. This was a time of change in Asia–globalization, wars, drugs, tourism, and religion remaking ethnic traditions and governments alike. Grazda's photos–with a few fictional and literary texts–is your passport to that long time ago.


Ordering Information
This item is currently in-stock for immediate shipment from photo-eye.

Order from photo-eye     Why photo-eye?


Cat# PY381H Hardbound $35.00 (978-1648230004)
Backorder this item. Domestic titles usually ship in 2-3 weeks; Foreign: 4-8 weeks.



Cat# PY381H Hardbound [Signed] $42.00 (978-1648230004)
In Stock! Usually ships in 1 business day.

Quantity:

Our customers who bought this also purchased...
Abandoned Moments   Ed Kashi
Zone Eleven   Ansel Adams
Property Rights   Mitch Epstein
In India   Mitch Epstein



© PHOTO-EYE, LLC, 2021. All Rights Reserved Copyrights-Trademarks Privacy Policy Returns Policy Staff/Hours/Location 505.988.5152 info@photoeye.com